F1: 2012 driver line-up is complete

The news that Narain Karthikeyan signed to race for HRT are not really a surprise given that the team was expected to take the weirdest decision possible. It would be interesting to know the background but it can be hypothesised that Narain falls into a narrow category of drivers that have money, are able to get a superlicense, are desperate enough to drive for HRT and believe that HRT are actually going to show up in the first race of the season.

Anyway, this means that the 2012 driver line up is now complete and it is interesting to note the high churn from last season, which has been concentrated on the midfield teams. The Team Formerly Known as Renault has replaced Senna, Petrov and Heidfeld and given a chance to Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean. Of these, only Senna was able to remain in F1. Toro Rosso has axed Buemi and Alguersuari. Force India has upgraded Nico Hulkenberg to a race seat forcing Adrian Sutil to the sidelines. Williams has put an end to Rubens Barrichello’s long Formula 1 career whilst HRT has said adios to Tonio Liuzzi and Virgin has continued its “Timo Glock + A.N.Other” approach to drivers.

All in all 8 drivers have lost their seats (9 if Karun Chandhok is included) including two top ten championship finishers, the only two drivers who finished on the podium outside the top 5 in the championship, and a former GP winner. Life in the middle of the F1 grid is pretty tough these days…


%d bloggers like this: